top of page

Goodbye, Cyan Studio: Lessons Learned

Yesterday was my last day in Cyan Studios. Packing up wasn't as bad as we thought it would be (thanks a handy folding cart stashed in back) but it was a bittersweet moment. I learned an immense amount in three months. I owe an enormous debt to my studio mates Wen, Kita, Meg, and Mary as well for sharing their insights with me and making my temporary stay such a positive experience. Would I do it again? Absolutely.

It's worth reflecting on a few takeaway points from my three months there. First, I learned to appreciate how many of our guests were artists: art teachers, amateur artists, aspiring artists, young artists, etc. I've observed other artists bristle at this before, which I can understand given how competitive it is. But I've also found that this particular group accounts for a very significant portion of people who buy art. In fact, both my first sale and my last (also my biggest sale) during that period were to professional artists, I suspect there are two reasons for this. Artists are most often incredibly supportive of other artists, and also appreciate the amount of time and care it takes to create a quality piece. While an inexperienced buyer may bristle at a $125 piece, a more knowledgeable buyer may realize that the painting could have taken many hours to complete, and framing was likely a significant expense.

This brings me to my next point. In the 3 months I was there, only once did a buyer ever choose between a piece by another artist and mine. In this case, the buyer had requested a very specific subject matter and decided purely on that basis. Having four artists with four totally distinct styles gave people a reason to come and browse but very rarely was there any direct competition. Most people who bought connected with a particular piece or motif, and decisions were almost always between two pieces by the same artist. Being around other artists made it a more valuable experience for visitors and a solo studio would not have been nearly as impactful.

All in all, being part of a community of artists was valuable in many ways and resulted in more art sales in these three months than all of last year. I plan to share more insights later, but right now my priority is finding a way to organize and store all the art and supplies that had been occupying that space. Yikes!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page